Our Story

Nick Z Marino bio

Nick Z Marino (AKA Nick Z. Marinovich, Nick Marinovich, Zeljko Marinovich, Zelko, Nick Marino) was born in former Yugoslavia. At the early age of 7, Marino attended  music school where he studied classical music. As an adolescent, he was strongly influenced by artists such as Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Queen, Dio, Iron Maiden, Scorpions and  AC/DC.

Marino released several albums in former Yugoslavia such as Unucici, 1988, Aliluja 1992 and won the 1991 Belgrade Spring Festival contest.
Marino moved to the USA in 1995 to pursue his musical career.
In 1999, Marino was featured on two songs for a compilation album, Alternative Rock Attitude, published
by Koka Media.
In 2000, Marino released his solo single CD Immigrant Song (remake of Led Zeppelin's song) 
on Number 1 Records.

Marino was performing and recording as a keyboardist with KC and the Sunshine Band from 1997-2009.

In 2005, Marino joined Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force Band as a keyboard player and toured the USA, Asia and Europe. 

In 2010, Marino formed the NZM Band and released his first US solo album, Freedom Has No Price,  as the lead singer and keyboard player. The album was published by Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force Records. 
(Patrick Johansson on drums and Scott Migone lead guitar and bass.)

In 2011, Marino also recorded keyboard tracks on Yngwie Malmsteen’s Relentless album.

In the spring of 2013, Marino became a vocalist and keyboard player for Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force Band.

In 2014, Marino released his second US album, Eternal Fire, featuring the NZM Band. 
(Nick Z Marino - lead vocal and keyboards, Patrick Johansson - drums and Ghee-yeh - lead guitar and bass.)

Marino was also featured in Yngwie Malmsteen’s Live CD Spellbound Live From Tampa 
and DVD Spellbound Live From Orlando, as the lead singer and keyboard player. This CD/DVD was published in 2015.

In the spring of 2016 Marino was performing on Generation Axe tour with Steve Vai, Zakk Wylde, Yngwie Malmsteen,
Nuno Bettencourt and Tosin Abasi. 

NZM Band album “Alive” was released in fall of 2016 featuring Nick Z Marino on lead vocals and keys.
( Denver Cooper on lead guitar, Jason Moshen on bass and Patrick Johansson, Mark Ellis on drums)

In spring of 2018 Nick Z Marino joined forces with VOICES OF METAL, featuring singers such as Tim Ripper Owens, Mike Viscera, Edu Falaschi and John Ivan on guitar.

In August 2018 Nick Z Marino’s solo album “Freedom Has No Price” was published again.

In October 2018 Nick Z Marino goes on solo Ukrainian tour featuring John Ivan on lead guitar, Gorka Alegre on bass and Brian Wilson on drums.

In November 2018 Nick Z Marino rejoined Generation Axe USA tour for 2 months playing along Steve Vai, Zakk Wylde, Yngwie Malmsteen, Nuno Bettencourt and Tosin Abasi.

In December 2018 NZM single "Under The Spell" was released on Itunes, Spotify and Cd Baby.

In March/April 2019 Nick Z Marino goes on Serbian solo tour. On several shows Nick joined forces with Mica Kovacevic on drums, Ivan Djerfi on bass and Nenad Bojkovic on lead guitar.

In April of 2019 Nick Z Marino played 8 weeks USA tour "Blue Lighting" with Yngwie Malmsteen .

In June of 2019 Voices of Metal project video was released featuring Nick Z Marino on keys and vocals, John Ivan on lead guitar, Brian Wilson on drums and Gorka Alegre on bass.

In October 2019 Nick play show in Mexico with NZM Band

In December 2019 Nick performs in Japan, China and South Korea with Generation Axe (Stve Vai, Yngwie Malmsteen, Zakk Wylde, Nuno Bettencourt and Tosin)

In early March of 2020 Nick performs with Yngwie Malmsteen on Mexican tour